1979 Hot Wheels Corvette Stingray

The Hot Wheels Corvette Stingray was first released in the 1976 Flying Colors series and is a very popular casting with around 70 variations produced. I still have my childhood version (one of the 1976 originals) and have been looking for an example of this yellow 1979 variation for some time. I landed this one in my recent eBay splurge. It has some playwear and also had some unfortunate discoloration in the white tampo, which is probably why I was able to get it for a reasonable price. Fortunately, a little soap and water on a Q-tip cleaned it up quite a bit and I was able fill another hole in my 1979 collection.

Other Hot Wheels Corvette Stingrays in my collection include the shiny model from the 1979 Golden Machines 6-Packthe orange 1980 versionthe white variation from 1985 with a fun racing livery, the laser-engraved plastic model from the 1992 Gleam Team series, the 1998 30th Anniversary reproduction, as well as two from the 2006 Flying Customs series.

Hot Wheels | 1979 | 9241 | Corvette Stingray | yellow with black, white and red trim | HK | bw

The next photo compares the car before and after it was cleaned.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.