Splurging at the Antique Store

Antique stores and art galleries are two things I really enjoy. In downtown Wichita, Vertigo 232 is on the second floor of a building that also houses Shopkeepers Antique Mall. Even better, you have to enter the antique store to access the stairs up to the gallery, a situation that gives me opportunity to browse the cases for cars.

While delivering work for a recent show in the gallery, I saw these four cars in the case. I tend to resist buying from antique stores – as opposed to garage sales – because I feel like someone else has made the find for me and I’m paying extra for it. But, at $2 and $3 each, these cars weren’t too bad a value. So I told myself that if they were there the next time I came in, I would pick them up.

When I came back to the gallery at the end of the exhibition to pick up my work, the cars were still there. So I splurged.

This Hot Wheels Porsche 959 is the 1988 first release of a model that’s been released in a few dozen variations since. I really like this paint and tampo combination as well as the Ultra Hots wheels.

Hot Wheels 1988 | 4631 | Porsche 959 | metallic dark red with orange and yellow trim | MY | UH

There are at least a dozen variations of the Matchbox BMW M1, which first came out in 1981. But this metallic gray version, with its opening hood (trunk?) and lack of rear wing and ground effects, appears to be a different casting altogether.

Matchbox 1981 | 52 | BMW M.1. | metallic gray, black 52 and stripe, hood opens, clear windows | Eng. | Superfast wheels | 1:57

I still have a bunch of nice Tomica models from my childhood, so I’m happy to acquire more when I’m fortunate enough to find them. The Tomica Maserati Merak SS and Porsche 928 are both red and both from 1978.

Tomica 1978 | F45 | Maserati Merak SS | red with black trim | 1/62

Tomica 1978 | F53 | Porsche 928 | red | 1/63

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Hot Wheels, Matchbox, Tomica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Splurging at the Antique Store

  1. Sweet finds. When I visit the UK, I often pop into the Yoork Antiques centre looking for old Matchbox cars. The only two regular wheels Matchbox, I have with their boxes came from there. I particularly like the look of those two Tomica cars, the wheels look similar to Matchbox Superfast. We don’t have Tomica here and I only have three in my collection picked up at a fleamarket https://jimholroyd365d.wordpress.com/2015/08/20/diecast-brands-tomica/

    • marcboz says:

      When I was a kid, I could buy Tomica Pocket Cars at the local Woolworth. I’m happy to grab those cars from the ’70’s and ’80’s when I occasionally see them these days. The company is still producing really nice diecast cars, but I’m not sure how available they are in North America.

Leave a Reply

