The Spammobile

This is another one of those items I found at the consignment store that doesn’t really fit in my collection. But who could resist The Spammobile?

When I got it, it was in a little clear plastic baggie, so the only info I had to go on is what is stamped on the base. A Hormel promo, dated 2002, made in China. After asking around online, I was told this was originally sold on the Spam website. The Spam Shop does have a very interesting selection of items for sale, but I don’t currently see any diecast vehicles. The “Series #1” stamped on the bottom of this bus makes me wonder if there might be more out there.

It’s a model of decent quality (1:64ish scale) and, though the base is plastic, all of that metal makes it nice and heavy. Apparently this is based on a real vehicle and – aside from the wheels being yellow on the real thing – they seemed to have captured most of the details.

img_9454 img_9455img_94022002 The Spammobile | blue and yellow with Spam graphics | made in China

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Spammobile

  1. What is this Spam doing in my WordPress Reader ? 😉

  2. This would be a perfect addition to my fast food collection (although I’m not sure if SPAM qualifies as fast food). https://joelreyesnoche.wordpress.com/2014/06/07/fast-food/

    • marcboz says:

      I’m not sure Spam is really food, Joel. ha ha But it woulld fit nicely with your collection regardless. I’ve always wanted to find an Oscar Myer Wienermobile.

Leave a Reply

