Bauer Lada 2106 Russian Police Car

I recently had a chance to make a trade with my fellow collector and blogger, Jim, who lives in Tbilisi, Georgia. I was hoping to get something that I wouldn’t be able to find here in the U.S., and I’d say Jim came through for me in a big way with this Bauer Lada 2106 Russian Police car.

Bauer has been based in Nuremberg since 1961 and has been active in Russia since 1996. I can’t read most of the package and I’m unable to find much information on the Autobahn series. The model is well-made with opening front doors, rubber tires and a plastic base. The vast majority of my cars are in the 1:64 scale range, but I certainly appreciate the amount of detail that 1:43 offers.

The original Lada sedan and station wagon was manufactured by the Russian AvtoVAZ from 1970 until 2012 without a major design change, selling over 20 million units. First sold in the Soviet bloc countries, Lada was exported worldwide in the 1980s and 1990s. The 2106 was an improved version of the 2103, distinguished by a more luxurious interior, larger taillights and quad headlights. It was powered by a 78 hp single overhead cam inline four cylinder and was produced from 1975 until 2005.

IMG_7804IMG_7805IMG_7806Lada 2106 Russian Police | white with blue police trim | made in China | 1:43

IMG_7799IMG_7800IMG_7801IMG_7802IMG_7803

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Bauer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bauer Lada 2106 Russian Police Car

  1. I’m glad it arrived safely, I don’t know much about Bauer either, I don’t have any other Bauer models, but I have a few Lada models by other manufacturers.

  2. Pingback: Packet from USA | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

