Matchbox Forum Online

Just a few days ago, I got an email from the Matchbox Forum administrator, informing me of all the latest updates to their website. Even though Matchbox/Lesney cars make up a fairly small part of my collection, I joined the Forum about a year and a half ago hoping to make some connections with other collectors. To be honest, I find their site really hard to navigate and I never did figure out how to use the message boards. However, they have done a lot of work on their catalogs which are a good resource for someone with a little determination.

I guess the best part about joining is that I got these two nice Matchbox models. I especially like the white-letter Goodyear Eagles on the ’57 Chevy.

img_7565 img_75681996 Premiere Collector Club | MB321 | 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air Hardtop | black with white top

img_7566 img_75671998 | MB325 (MB30-12) | Chevy Tahoe Police “Official Matchbox Collectors Club” promo | black

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Matchbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Matchbox Forum Online

  1. Graham says:

    Can anyone help me ?? I have a Lesney Matchbox Speed Kings 1974 Model K50-53
    Ford “T”-Bucket Street Rod in Chrome Yellow body with remainder in Chrome and the removable plastic top in Black. It is 1:43 Scale and has mounting lugs under the chassis
    and is mounted to a polished piece of timber 155mm x 100mm x 20mm and it had a
    Fountain type pen attached to the other half section of the mounting block……
    I purchased this from a gift shop in Darwin N.T. Australiain early 1974 ..and have had it in my collection ever since but have decided to part with it as I now mainly collect only 1:24 scale diecast Hotrod models….. When bought it did not come with a box from memory
    and is un-usual and different from the only other 2 styles I have been able to locate on Ebay that are boxed and do not have the mounting lugs cast into the chassis.
    The other two seen on Ebay are a Fire Dept (Red) T-Bucket and a two tone green T-Bucket
    with the words “Hot-T” in bubble graphics on the side.
    Am I sitting on a one of a kind rare piece and what would it be valued at to a serious
    collector ??? Any help would be appreciated as I have scoured the internet without success
    in finding even a photo of one like mine…I can email photo’s on request..
    Regards GRAHAM

    • marcboz says:

      Hi Graham! I’m not the guy to answer your question, but I’ll bet somebody over at Swifty’s Garage could help you (http://swiftysgarage.net/index/) They have an entire “bay” dedicated to Matchbox and there are lots of knowledgable collectors who frequent the site. Every time I pose a question there I get loads of good info. Let me know what you find out. Thanks, Marc

Leave a Reply

