Matchbox 1972 AMX Javelin and Other Garage Sale Finds

For many years, my older brother, Joe, had a yard full of project cars. Among the mostly Chevys, there were two 1968 AMX Javelins. The plan was take the motor from the wrecked one and put it in the other car, which had no engine but a straight body. I spent a summer doing some work for my brother, hoping to someday drive that Javelin. Unfortunately, the project car never came to fruition. I always preferred the first generation Javelins, like that ’68 in my brothers yard. In 1971, the Javelin was redesigned and the car took on bulging fenders which I thought made the car look kind of cartoony. But maybe that’s why the car works so well as a toy.

I found this Matchbox 1972 AMX Javelin at a garage sale where there was a bin full of cars in Ziploc bags, priced 5 for $2. As I started looking through them, a boy who was sitting nearby offered me the whole bin for $50. I had already decided there were many cars in the box that I didn’t want, so I asked him if there were any old ones in the lot. “There are some from the 60s,” he claimed, “but most are from the 80s.” Well, if there were any from the 60s, somebody got to them before me, but I did walk away with several bags of cars, most with only one car I really wanted. This Javelin from 1972 was the oldest car I could find.

img_1324img_13251972 | 9 | AMX Javelin | metallic light green with yellow interior, opening doors | Superfast wheels

The next most interesting car that I took home is this gold Hot Wheels Jaguar XJS from 1979. The XJS was first released the previous year, but this variation – part of the Golden Machines 6-pack – would be more valuable if it were in mint condition (which, obviously, this one is not).

img_1317 img_13181979 | 2012 | Jaguar XJS | gold chrome with yellow & black trim | HK | blackwalls

I’ve always loved the Hot Wheels ’31 Doozie, in fact I’ve had one since I was a kid. This maroon version from 1986 looks pretty sharp with the white wall tires. Too bad it’s missing the tan plastic top.

img_1313img_13141986 | 9649 | ’31 Doozie | maroon with maroon plastic fenders, missing tan top | MY | white walls

The Hot Wheels Upfront 924 was first released in 1979. I have that yellow first casting as well as another orange version that was made in Malaysia, so this Hong Kong-built model makes three for me so far.

img_1320 img_13211980 | 2500 | Upfront 924 | orange with red yellow & black trim | HK | blackwalls

I also added another casting to my collection of Hot Wheels Crack Ups from 1985. This metallic red Speed Crasher has been cracked up so many times that it no longer clicks back into like-new shape.

img_1315img_13161985 | 7824 | Speed Crasher (Crack Up) | metallic red with white, yellow and orange trim | HK |blackwalls

And finally, the garage sale box also yielded this Hot Wheels Porsche 930, a late-era blackwall from 1991. Wouldn’t you know, of the 4 different colors released for the first casting, this red variation is the least valuable.

img_1322img_13231991 | 7607 | Porsche 930 | red with yellow, black & white trim | MY | blackwalls

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Hot Wheels, Matchbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Matchbox 1972 AMX Javelin and Other Garage Sale Finds

  1. Pingback: 1885 Smash Hit and Other Crack Ups | The Race Case

  2. The AMX Javelin is high on my wants list…not quite the nostalgic buzz of the Matchbox Mercury Cougar, but pretty close…
    The Porsche Turbo is a nice find, too, even though there are plenty around it is a shape that never tires….

  3. Pingback: 1979 Upfront 924 | The Race Case

  4. Pingback: Hot Wheels 1979 Golden Machines 6-Pack | The Race Case

  5. Pingback: 1978 Packin’ Pacer | The Race Case

  6. Pingback: 1975 Matchbox Speed Kings Javelin AMX | The Race Case

Leave a Reply

