An Unexpected Referral

I put a fair amount of time and effort into trying to drive traffic to my blog. WordPress provides daily stats and I look at them regularly to try to determine what’s working and what’s not. Sometimes what I find there is not what I would expect.

Yesterday, I noticed a couple of referrals that came from a website I did not recognize. I clicked on the link and found myself on a website called PaintRef.com. “Looking for automotive paint? What’s the name of a color? Remembering the first car you ever owned? These questions and more can be explored on PaintRef.com,” declares their homepage. So I gave it a try. It’s not the most attractive site around, but it’s easy to use and it houses an impressive collection of information, with a variety of ways to search. With a few clicks, I had the paint codes in a variety of brands for the Green Gold Metallic paint from my long gone 1973 Chevy Nova.

Probably the coolest feature is one that allows you to do an image search for vehicles with that particular paint. I especially enjoyed the photos I viewed of a Green Gold 1973 Chevy Nova SS (much nicer than mine ever was, by the way.) Which leads me to why I was getting referrals from this site. On a page for “Impact Yellow 1980 Dodge Truck,” the image search was pulling in photos of the Matchbox 1976 Dodge Cattle Truck from one of my earlier posts. Here’s the screen capture …

Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 10.09.30 PM

Now, this is probably not exactly what the guys at PaintRef.com had in mind, but I appreciate the traffic however I can get it. So click on over to PaintRef.com and check out their impressive database – and tell them I sent you.

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Childhood Collection, Matchbox and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

