1978 Hot Bird

The Hot Bird – a Pontiac Firebird Trans Am with a T-top – was introduced into the Hot Wheels line-up in 1978. I found this black version at a garage sale yesterday. Oddly, it was the only Hot Wheel I could see at the entire sale. And even better, it was in the free box! As I always say, never pass up a free Hot Bird.

IMG_8250 IMG_82511978 | 2014 | Hot Bird | black with yellow & red trim | HK | blackwalls

It’s great to have a large family looking out for cars for you. My oldest brother found this next Hot Bird for me. The blue version from 1980 is quite a bit more valuable than the black one above.

IMG_7073IMG_70741980 | 2014 | Hot Bird | blue with yellow & red trim | HK | blackwalls

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Hot Wheels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 1978 Hot Bird

  1. Pingback: 1979 Captain America and Human Torch « The Race Case

  2. I used to have a black Hot Bird, but a cousin lost it. It was my favorite car. I talked about it here: http://joelreyesnoche.wordpress.com/2012/11/30/knight-rider/

    • marcboz says:

      Awesome, Joel! What color was your Hot Bird? I’ve got a Knight Rider car too – thought only because my wife was a fan of the show (and David Hasselhoff, I’m sure)!

      • I’ve edited my blog post to state that I had a black Hot Bird. What I really liked about it was its fat tires that go beyond the metal body to the sides. Perhaps that’s why it could go down my curved tracks faster.

  3. Pingback: 1982 Hot Bird | The Race Case

  4. Pingback: Hot Wheels 1979 Golden Machines 6-Pack | The Race Case

Leave a Reply

