1961 Chevrolet Impala – an eBay Misadventure

I’d been watching and bidding on a few of these old Impalas on eBay for awhile, but most of them were going way outside my price range – partly because they originated in the UK, but mostly just because they’re worth a fair chunk of money. Finally I managed to find one in Canada that had a hole in the back window, a missing tow hook, and less than perfect paint. A good fit for my misfit collection. I won the bidding and waited excitedly to receive my prize in the mail. But the seller had basically tossed it in a bubble wrap envelope and sent it on its way. By the time it arrived in my mailbox, the roof of the car had been crushed as you see it here. Fortunately, the seller was kind enough to refund my entire purchase, so I accepted the car into my collection despite its many flaws. Even with a crushed top, the lines of the ’61 are undeniably awesome.

IMG_7005.JPG IMG_7006.JPG1961 | 57 | Chevrolet Impala | metallic blue body, light blue roof, black base | gray plastic wheels

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Matchbox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

