American Graffiti ’59 Impalas

I never saw the movie American Graffiti when it came out in theaters in 1973, but I did watch it on television a few years later. While I don’t remember a lot of details from the movie, I do remember being impressed by the cars and the rock n’ roll spirit of the Southern California cruising culture depicted in the movie. I also remember listening to the soundtrack quite a bit on an 8-track player in a good friend’s basement.

So, of course I needed to add the Hot Wheels 2013 American Graffiti ’59 Impala to my collection when I came across it at Toys R Us the other day. I’ve heard some complaints about the accuracy of the cars used in the Retro Entertainment series, and that criticism certainly applies here. While the paint and wheels are fairly accurate, the movie car didn’t have fender skirts or a spare tire cover on the trunk.

IMG_2952 IMG_2951 X8930 | 2013 Retro Entertainment Series – American Graffiti | ’59 Impala | white with silver & red trim | RR

If accuracy is your thing, you’ll be glad to know you have other options. Revell made a version of the American Graffiti ’58 Impala back in 2002 which included a miniature figure of the character Toad from the movie. The car has an opening hood and has no extraneous body parts. Toad, however, is not the same scale as the car. I believe this model is more white than it looks in my photo – it appears that the clear plastic blister has discolored quite a bit over the years.

IMG_2965 IMG_2961 IMG_296486-3170 | Revell 2002 Issue #108 American Graffiti | ‘58 Chevy Impala with Toad Figure | white with silver & red trim

The other American Graffiti ’58 Impala I have in my collection was produced by Johnny Lightning in 2001. It appears to also have an opening hood (I’m not willing to violate the blister to find out for sure), but the wheels don’t quite match those on the original movie car.

IMG_2971 IMG_29722001 Johnny Lightning | American Graffiti R1 | 1958 Chevy Impala | white

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Hot Wheels, Johnny Lightning, Revell and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to American Graffiti ’59 Impalas

  1. Looks cool. I ve never seen American Grafitti. My favourite movies for cars are “The Italian Job” (1969) a “The Love Bug” (1968) lots of lovely late sixties cars in both.

    • marcboz says:

      We just watched “The Italian Job” from 2003 the other day. It’s a good car movie too, but now I’ll have to check out the 1969 version.

      • The First Italian Job(1969) has a Lamborghini Miura at the start. Then a selection of wonderful cars including two Jaguar E Types, an Aston Martin DB4, a Fiat Dino and of course three Mini Coopers….

Leave a Reply

