2014 Mystery Machine

My son has a knack for finding the Hot Wheels Mystery Machine. When the casting first came out in 2012, I searched high and low for it but just couldn’t come up with one. I whined about it publicly so much that someone finally felt bad for me and sent me a couple – one of each of the packaging variations. A month or so ago, my son went with me to O’Reilly Auto Parts to pick up a headlamp for my car. While I went up to the counter for help, my son wandered over to a small display of Hot Wheels, where he quickly grabbed the 2014 Mystery Machine that was hanging there. A few weeks later, he was with my wife at Target when he scored another one for me.

The 5-spoke wheels are an improvement over the J5s that they put on the 2012 version. Unfortunately, the best-looking version – 2013’s Retro-Entertainment release – is one that my son has yet to find for me.

IMG_2884 IMG_2892
BFC93 | 2014 HW City Tooned I | The Mystery Machine | turquoise with The Mystery Machine trim | chrome orange 5SP

About marcboz

Marc Bosworth is an artist who teaches printmaking and works as an art director. He lives in a 100-year-old bungalow in Wichita with his lovely wife and their young ninja son.
This entry was posted in Hot Wheels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2014 Mystery Machine

  1. Another difference is that the 2013 card has no decorations on the front of the van, while the 2012 card has decorations. (But both scale models don’t have decorations on the front.)

  2. I looked for ages for a Mystery Machine, after I finally found one, I kept seeing it in stores (the same happened with the Toyota 2000GT)…it’s a mystery to me… maybe we should Scooby Doo to investigate….

Leave a Reply

